History

“At the threshold of Berry and Poitou regions, the manor and its outhouses sit on top of a wooden hill overlooking the left bank of the river Anglin. Following the road from Ingrandes to Mérigny, looking into the valley, it does not take but a glimpse to notice the small castle with its slate covered turrets and an elegant belvedere amidst the surrounding woods… A carpet of greens gently rolls down from the castel to the river bank. »

Le Blanc and its surroundings’ history, 1868.

 

Saint Victor dates from late XV th century /early XVI th . It housed the Louan and Galliot families from Poitou. In the XVII th century, a member of the Barbançois family,Léon de Barbançois, knight, Lord of Saint-Victor-la-Grande-Maison, had several children. One of them, Antoine, was baptised by Antoine d’Aloigni, abbot of Fontgombault and Lord of Ingrandes, on November 15th, 1671.gravureThe godmother was Louise du Riz, daughter of Sylvain des Grandes, Lord of that place. On January 16th, 1691 in the church of Ingrandes was celebrated the wedding of Marie de Barbançois, daughter of Léon, and Jacques Ferdinand Chauvelin, Lord of Luzeret and other places, son of Ferdinand Chauvelin and Anne de Conflans Despoix.

374353_295502337157420_888097421_nIn 1717 Silvain de Barbançois, Lord of Saint-Victor-la-Grande-Maison, willed a meadow by the river Anglin or a pension of 18 pounds to the cure of Ingrandes -leaving the choice between the 2 options to his heirs, to pay for the service of five priests, the day of his death, and forever celebrate a low mass twice a month. In 1717 as well, Philippe de Barbançois, son of Léon, marries Anne-Marie Poiron, sprung from a family with honorable and long lineage of magistrates in Le Blanc. Philippe died on February 13th, 1719, and was buried in the church of Saint-Génitour in Le Blanc, where several other members of the family were buried. Saint-Victor-la-Grande-Maison, at the end of the Barbançois House ownership around 1720, the estate passed into that of Villemort. During the French Revolution, it was in the hands of Mr. de Villemort, before being sold in 1793 as national property.

324116_320117408029246_1619947852_oCharles Thomas L’herpinière, mayor of Ingrandes, bought it on Ventose 24 year II – 14th march 1794. One of Mr. L’herpinière’s daughters, married to Mr. Péris, from Belâbre, inherited it in the first years of the century. Mr. de Villemort bought the property back from Mr. Péris to sell it shortly after to Mr. Beaufumé. Mr. René Creuzet des Roches acquired it in 1830. Inventor of the first harvester-thresher and mayor of Ingrandes from 1843 to 1847, he took over the estate, renovated and rebuilt buildings to the state they are in today. Around 1896 he built a second manor adjoining the first one and turned the old house’s vaulted cellar into a terrace in front of the new castle. From 1876 to 1971, three owners followed: MM. Joslé de Lamazière, Lavergne, Hénault and Chiffre. In 1941, a Honey House, a lemon house and a byre were built. The house was taken over in 1981 by Marie Rouet Grandclément, native of the region.

Histoire du lieu

« C’est ce charmant manoir, connu sous le nom de Saint-Victor-la-Grande-Maison, caché dans le bocage comme un nid d’oiseau ». Aux marches du Berry et du Poitou, le manoir et ses dépendances sont situés sur le sommet d’un coteau boisé qui domine la rive gauche de l’Anglin. En suivant la route qui conduit d’Ingrandes à Mérigny, lorsqu’on promène ses regards sur le vallon, on ne tarde pas à apercevoir sur le sommet du coteau qui règne sur la rive gauche de l’Anglin, un petit castel qui, du milieu des bois qui l’entourent, détache ses deux tourelles couvertes en ardoises et un élégant belvédère… Un tapis de verdure se déroule des pieds du château jusqu’au bord de la rivière. »

Histoire du Blanc et de ses environs (1868)

 

 

Il semble dater de la fin  du XIVéme siecle ou début du XVéme ème. Il abrita les familles de Louan, de Galliot puis au dix-septième siècle un des membres de la famille de Barbançois.gravure Léon de Barbancois, chevalier, seigneur de Saint-Victor-la-Grande-Maison eut plusieurs enfants. L’un d’eux, Antoine, fut tenu sur les fonts baptismaux par Antoine d’Aloigni, abbé de Fontgombaûlt et seigneur d’Ingrandes, le 15 novembre 1671 ; la marraine fut Louise du Riz, fille de Sylvain des Grandes, seigneur dudit lieu. Le 16 janvier 1691 fut célébré dans l’église d’Ingrandes le mariage de Marie de Barbançois, fille de Léon, avec Jacques Ferdinand Chauvelin, seigneur de Luzeret et autres places, fils de Ferdinand Chauvelin et Anne de Conflans Despoix.

 

En 1717 par testament messire Silvain de Barbançois, seigneur de la Grande-Maison, lègue à la cure d’Ingrandes-un pré situé sur la rivière de l’Anglin ou bien une rente de 18 livres, au choix de ses héritiers, à charge par les curés de ladite paroisse de faire un service à cinq prêtres, le jour du décès du testateur, et dire à perpétuité deux messes basses par mois. En 1717 également, Philippe de Barbançois, fils de Léonse marie avec Anne-Marie Poiron, -une famille – qui a occupé au Blanc, pendant un assez long temps, une position très honorable dans la magistrature-. Philippe décéda le 13 février 1719, et fut inhumé dans l’église de Saint-Génitour du Blanc, où plusieurs membres de la famille Poiron furent enterrés. Saint-Victor-la-Grande-Maison, au sortir de la maison Barbançois vers 1720, est passée dans celle des Villemort. Sous la révolution française, elle fut entre les mains de M. de Villemort en 1793 avant d’être vendue comme bien national.

Ce fut Charles Thomas L’herpinière, maire d’Ingrandes qui l’acheta en 1794 le 24 ventose de l’an II-. Une fille de Monsieur L’herpinière, mariée à M. Péris, de Belâbre, en hérita dans les premières années du siècle. M. de Villemort racheta sa propriété de M. Péris pour la revendre peu de temps après à M. Beaufumé. M. René Creuzet des Roches en fît l’acquisition en 1830. Inventeur d’une première batteuse et maire d’Ingrandes de 1843 à 1847 il a fait reprendre ou reconstruire les bâtiments que l’on voit encore aujourd’hui et vers 1896 a fait construire un second manoir jouxtant le premier et a transformé la cave voutée de l’ancienne demeure en terrasse devant le nouveau château. De 1876 à 1971 trois propriétaires se succédèrent-MM. Joslé de Lamazière, -Lavergne, Hénault et Chiffre. En 1941 une Miellerie, une orangerie et une remise furent construites. La maison fut reprise en 1981 par Marie Rouet Grandclement, originaire de la region.